Reel Talk – Gravity

What’s up, guys. This is my first post in what I like to call Reel Talk, where I share my movie experiences with you. First movie I decided to write about: Gravity.

The most terrifying thing a human being can experience is, arguably, loneliness and helplessness. These two feelings are pushed to an all-time high at the thought of being stuck in outer space. Right off the bat, the film relates to a fear that the majority of people have: drifting aimlessly in space.

At first, I didn’t understand when the reviews I read beforehand mentioned that it’s hard to talk about this movie without spoiling anything. But now I fully realize what they all meant, so I’ve made absolutely sure to talk only about certain aspects of this film; such as sound design, visuals, and of course, acting talents.

The very first thing the audience sees is a beautiful shot of Earth. This helps put the audience right out in space – no noise, not a whole lot going on, just the planet Earth, stars, and nothingness. From the first second of the movie, you really feel like you’re in outer space. The visuals in this movie are absolutely amazing. The graphic designers for this film did a perfect job attending to every detail of space. I don’t think the movie would be as immersive if the visuals weren’t as good as they are. I think what they were going for is bringing the audience along for the ride. I also think the beauty provides a sort of love/hate relationship with outer space. It’s breathtaking and peaceful, but it’s also unpredictable and deadly.

What makes this movie so well polished, and even terrifying at some points, is the fact that the film stays true to the science of space; there is no sound. Unlike many sci-fi movies where explosions can be heard from galaxies away, Gravity’s excellent sound design gives the audience an idea of what outer space would truly “sound” like. And it’s not just simply silent. There is extremely clever art behind the sound design. In order to put you in Sandra Bullock’s shoes, the makers of the movie wanted you to hear only the things that she would hear. At the beginning Bullock, who is fantastic at her role, is unscrewing something from, uh, something else. And you hear the vibrations through the arm of her suit. For the most part, any noise you hear in this movie is either vibrations through her suit or voices through the characters’ coms. This was an excellent choice, because half of what makes the situation so terrifying is the unknown of empty, soundless space.

Sandra Bullock does an amazing job. I can’t say it enough, really. If it feels like I’m not giving her much credit, it’s unintentional. There really are no words to describe how I feel about her performance. Most members of the audience will find themselves rooting for her the entire time. I think that’s what makes this movie so intriguing; this awful situation she’s put in is relatable. Obviously none of us have ever drifted in space, and it’s highly unlikely that any of my readers have ever been in space at all, but I can say with full confidence that we share the same fear. Because we’re able to relate to this fear, it’s much easier for us to root for her and become emotionally attached to her.

I think that everything the makers of this movie were going for, they achieved with ease. I felt emotionally engaged and many times I felt like I was actually in space. There’s never a dull moment in this movie, either. It is intense all the way through, and I’d say “intense” is an understatement. Gravity is definitely a great ride, and a must see. If you can, do your best to catch it in 3D. I can see plenty of award nominations for it this year, and I’m pretty sure you’ll agree.

As always, thanks for reading. Play hard.

Leave a Reply

