Blacklist – Final Thoughts

I’ve been putting this off for a little while – Diablo III has had me completely sucked in the last couple of weeks – but I finally decided to put down my Legendary Axe of Wounding long enough to give my verdict on the latest Splinter Cell game, Blacklist.

Initially, I stated that this was not my favorite game in the series. I have changed my mind, and have done so with much ease and pride. While Conviction seemed to force the player to go loud, creating more of an action game, Blacklist did a fantastic job of sticking to the stealth mechanics of the classic games, yet maintaining the intensity and action from Conviction. The story also presents itself extremely well, as the Splinter Cell games have always managed to do. Ubisoft has done a good job with making the Splinter Cell story more and more impressive with each release. The game also had a surprising amount of clever humor. The script takes advantage of serious situations and throws in a joke when it’s least expected, giving the player some comedic relief.

Every action in Blacklist feels natural, and the maps provide the player with plenty of different ways to infiltrate and engage. Throwing an EMP grenade at a camera in order to distract a guard, slipping past him and into the server room, hacking the server and then crawling out the window just as the guard reenters the room has never felt so natural and intense. With the all-new suit and weapon upgrades, I really took on the role of a spy. Unlocking and deciding which gadgets to use on which missions is a lot of fun. I found myself playing a lot of very addicting side missions in order to save up enough money to buy the next upgrade for Fisher’s iconic goggles.

Overall, Splinter Cell: Blacklist is a spectacular game. The engaging story, smooth and simple yet intense gameplay, and new upgrading/customization system are all what makes this game my favorite in the series. I highly recommend Blacklist to anyone who’s a fan of the series, or stealth games in general. Anyone who had doubts has nothing to fear. If you haven’t gotten your hands on a copy of Blacklist yet, get it, and channel your inner spy.

As always, thank you for reading. Play hard.

One thought on “Blacklist – Final Thoughts

Leave a Reply

